Words without meaning

question man 2          Listening to conversations, I am fascinated with the development of our language. I hear a new word being used which is “texted”. In reality, text is a noun. Trying to make it a verb is an interesting experiment, but the reality is “I did text him” is correct whereas, “I texted him” isn’t. Nevertheless, “texted” seems to be growing in popularity even if it isn’t correct.

Another one that is different is the word “conversate”. There is no word “conversate” in the dictionary, but as much as I hear it being used, it will probably be there in a few years.The word “prioritize” didn’t exist until the political campaign of 1979, and now it is part of life. So I guess I need to prioritize my texted information so I can conversate properly. No wonder the British say we don’t speak English, we speak American.

I put some new words in my new book, “Hook, Line & Sinker”  which is the sequel novel to “Catch and Release” a top winner in Romance/Mystery International Competition at the 2012 London Book Festival; 2012 Los Angeles Book Fair ; 2012 Beach Book show; 2012 New England Book Show; and Winner Best Audiobook 2013 Paris Book Festival. Take a look at my website  www.JTwerell.com.    OR  Click here for Amazon PageI

Leave a Reply

