PASSION

passion

When I check my thesaurus for the word passion, I find substitutes of desire, hunger, thirst, lust, urge, ache and several others. When people ask why I write, I simply state it is part of my passion, which is a true statement. However, when I research further I find the word passion is from the Latin verb pati, which literally means, “to suffer”. I guess when I think about writing and passion, I can truly understand the suffering part. I’m not into playing victim or feeling like a martyr for my cause. Far from it, as writing is my choice and I willingly enter into my passion with eyes wide open. However, let’s think about the suffering:

  1. We suffer when we don’t write because characters, plots and other diabolical schemes pound through our brain.
  2. We suffer when we do write because all the characters, plots and other diabolical schemes now have freedom to pour out of our beleaguered brain.
  3. We suffer when our creative efforts are finished because now our characters, plots and other diabolical schemes fall pray to editorial warfare, which generally leaves behind many wounded.
  4. We suffer when it comes time to present our creative effort to the world around us and find our voice lost in the multitude of other creative works filled with characters, plots and other diabolical schemes.
  5. We suffer when our creative effort finally finds a voice and is recognized by the world around us, for then the outside critical voice begins its campaign to find fault with our characters, plots and other diabolical schemes.
  6. We suffer when we walk away from this process of creativity, swearing we will never subject ourselves to its cruel devices.
  7. We suffer when we don’t write because characters, plots and other diabolical schemes pound through our brain.

And we begin once more. Why do I write? It’s my passion. How about you? JTT

Leave a Reply

